From the book: rekha_150_rgb_1472469567_380x570

Rekha’s sexual openness raised eyebrows and rattled people. Bollywood wasn’t ready for such an irrepressible woman, and tried to suppress her. This book tells the truth about her relationship with the reigning superstar of the time, her many other lovers, and the shocking suicide of her husband

Format – ebook

Publisher – Juggernaut

My Take:

Since the time I can remember the beauty of this Bollywood Diva enchanted me. I had seen so many of her movies, collected her posters from the magazine, cassette covers, newspapers that I always thought media was in love with this lady. When I grew up a little more I came to know about her alleged relationships with her co-stars and finally her marriage to one of the Delhi based businessman that shocked me along with her other fans. Personally, as a fan, I never visualized as any of these avatars. I loved her simplicity in Khubsurat, Utsav, Umrao Jaan and Kama Sutra. The last one needs mention because it is different in that genre. There was another movie in which she portrayed the life of a woman who was the only breadwinner of the family. She even gives up her boyfriend when she comes t o know that her widow sister secretly loved him. She portrayed one main quality of a Nari, the woman, mainly sacrifice. And I want to remember her always in that  role. In fact all the movies I mentioned here has some of the shades of this trait slightly. She remains one of my favorite.

When I bought this book I knew what I would find because the author had already mentioned in the very beginning that he never got a chance to interview Rekha. So this book has all the information about her minus her POV. The author has written the book from a neutral POV. He never exaggerated her at any point in the book. What I enjoyed most in the book was the way he unfolded her layers, one beneath the other, that by the time you end the book you feel totally complete. Complete with the story of your favorite actress and loving her more for what she is, an woman. I enjoyed the simple language the author used for narration. Never once I found the book boring. Excellent read!!

Recommended for those who enjoy Bollywood biographies.

unnamedunnamedunnamedunnamed