“Cooking was 1 thing I hated most. But I loved when my Mom used to bake our birthday cakes. ” – Aparna Nayak

In the “Chat n Coffee” session we have with us an avid reader, blogger, dotting mother to a special child and an awesome choco baker Aparna Nayak, the founder of

aqua_ace_20161124_1714021
Aparna Nayak

, a homemade chocolates and cake made to order.

Today Aparna is here to share with us her journey from a housewife to a home baker with Chocodisiac.

  • Tell us about yourself

I am a full time mother of a 12-year old special princess, part-time home baker and chocolatier, book reviewer and blogger. I love to cook and am a true foodie. I like to unwind day’s stress by listening to music or by reading a book or sometimes just curling up on a bean bag n watch some rom-com.

  • What gift would you prefer on your birthday?

Gift…hmmm….let me think…what gift a lady usually prefers??? I would prefer books, flowers from my loved one… baking goods, perfumes and/or trinkets which every women love…not necessary costly one… or may be on second thoughts I would prefer 1 day off on my birthday n go n bond with nature n get rejuvenated …. J

  • What is your take on books/ movies/music? Any favorites?

Books are woman’s best friends I believe… they don’t throw tantrum or demand attention….but do catch our attention… a good book is good stress buster… u can relax yourself when u had a bad day just settle down with a good book, your favourite hot cuppa in favourite cosy corner of your house n get immersed in the world of fantasy… i have nothing in particular but recently i liked Mrs. Funny bones, Devdutt Patnaik n Anand Neelkanthan’s mythology, The Palace of Illusions, Sumana khan’s Encounters and the revenge of Kaivalya, Kavita Kane’s Menaka’s Choice and Anupama Garg’s The Tantric curse.

 now-a-days movies n music have lost their charm except for some rare ones which did impact me in a strange way like Angry Indian Goddess, Pink, taare zameen par.

Present day music is just ….. no meaningful lyrics just senseless ones n some blaring hip hop background score which we get to hear during festivals n gets people dancing on it. I like to listen and unwind or start my day with some old music which peps up my mood and drives away day’s tiredness.

  • Given a chance what one thing would you like to change in your life?

Many things from my past from my childhood especially that 1 incident which changed my whole life..Not only mine but my whole family’s life.

  • You have been reviewing books? What kind of books you usually love to read?

Recently I have taken a love for reading mythologies but I like to read suspense, thrillers too n good romantic one too

  • You have started, Chocodisiac, a homemade chocolates and cake made to order. Did you always loved baking and cooking? What made you take the decision?

    20140118_115540
    My family

Cooking was 1 thing I hated most. But I loved when my Mom used to bake our birthday cakes. That aroma which used waft in our house was just too tempting. After my daughter was born and had to go through a life threatening sickness at age of 8 months her doctor had advised her not give any outside food. But whenever on her birthdays we got shop cakes she used to fall sick and I always hated the aftertaste the cakes used to leave on my palette. Once when I went to attend my birthday party of my friend’s kid she gave me homemade chocolates. And that was like my stepping stone in world of homemade chocolates and cakes. I wanted to do something for myself as taking care of a differently abled girl is not an easy job for any mother. Luckily in July 2015 I attended a basic cake workshop wherein I learnt various icings and fillings. That gave me the necessary information and confidence to start something on my own from comforts of my house and that’s how Chocodisiac was born.

1st-order-16-7-1
My first order cake

  • Could you share some of your most popular cake recipes?

 

One of most relished and popular cake is Apple and oats cake which is super easy and yum too. It’s a Nita Mehta’s recipe.

 

Ingredients

 

½ tin milkmaid (200gms)

50 gms (1/2 cup) oats

15 almonds – crushed roughly

25 gms (1/4 cup) whole wheat flour (atta)

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon cinnamon (dalchini powder)

½ cup oil

1 teaspoon Vanilla essence (optional)

1 big red apple dekinned and finely chopped

2 tablespoon maida

 

20151004_082135
Apple and oats cake

Method

 

  • Grease well and line with paper 6-7’ cake tin of your desired shape.
  • Sieve wheat flour along with baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon powder.
  • Add oats and almonds.
  • Beat milkmaid well. Add essence and beat well.
  • Add oil and beat till well mixed.
  • Add flour mixture gradually and mix gently with wooden spoon.
  • Coat the chopped apple with the maida and fold it into the batter.
  • Transfer the batter into the prepared tin and bake it in preheated oven at 180’C for 40-45 min or till tester comes out clean

 

  • What do you take into account while taking any orders for Chocodisiac?

Many things… what the client likes/dislikes, if he/she is allergic to something… when do they want the delivery? Whether they want home delivery or they will pick up themselves so on and so forth.

  • How can it be used with books?

Hmm… I am not sure, as the recipes used by me are either adapted from some cook book or from some experts. Maybe, if you are planning some storyline on a baker or chef, then some recipes can be incorporated along with the plot.

  • What points should one keep in mind while ordering from a home baker/chocolatier?

People always complain about pricing… why are we costlier than the shop??? The reason is we make on order. We don’t buy ingredients in bulk as shops do. We use fine quality ingredients. Also if you observe shop cake usually has more of cream/filling than the sponge whereas we have a

1st-black-forest-cake-1
My first home made cake

balance of both. Shop cakes are prepared in bulk and are stale but we cater to your needs and start working on your cakes 1 or 2 day prior to day of delivery.  My daughter always use to fall sick after eating cream of the cakes from the shop but since I have started baking at home I give her cakes with cream without any fear as I know the quality of the ingredients used, no artificial colours or flavours used, so I am sure that my daughter is eating good quality product.

Also people should also consider that we are housewives turned baker. We have a family and their responsibilities to take care of. We have our kids to look after, kids and family members to be fed. It would be appreciative if the order is placed well in advance rather than in the eleventh hour. It actually gives us time to be more creative and give the special touch to such orders. Even though we love baking and it’s our passion but we invest our time, energy and also money so it would be awesome if someone respect that.

  • How can one contact you for the same?

One can contact me either by giving me a call on my mobile at 9320128433 or whatsapp me at same number or by emailing me at aparnanayak2008@gmail.com or by dropping a message on my fb page https://www.facebook.com/chocodisiac01