I went to watch Lipstick Under My Burkha (LUMB)

220px-Lipstick_Under_My_Burkha_(2017)
Lipstick Under My Burkha

Before I tell you what the movie is about I would like to share my experience of going out to watch this movie.

Ten years into marriage now and I have skipped all the movies I ever wanted to watch on the silver screen. The reason is not different than many of yours. I love to watch off beat movies mostly and that does not pull in family viewing at all especially when you have kids in the house. So in theaters, I always end by watching movies which are treat to eyes of the kids which implies superman, flying Jatt etc. While I usually watch my TBV list on TV with CDs – pirated most of the time.

LUMB was a big change from all these things in my life. I boldly announced to my family that I am going to watch this movie in the theaters. Period! They glared at me for a while but then set me free. Yes FREE. I could go out watch my movie now. No baggage attached. No hard feelings like how could I do this to my family-taking the liberty and all. But you heard me correct. LUMB trailers got me to say that and with no baggage attached.

So now the first hurdle was crossed. which meant I had to watch it alone if my family was not coming along. ALONE! Nah. I turned to all my girlfriends on my phone contact list. Sending messages in Watsapp groups to make a team to go out to watch the movie in the hall.

Surprisingly, even after so much hoopla many of the women on my list had never heard of the movie. And those who did had some kind of excuse or the other to skip it. However, they did assure they would love to watch it. However, I know the situation would have been different if it was a different movie like romance or masala bollywood films.

LUMB is based on a social issue  and it is not just off beat but related to of woman’s sexual desire. It is a dark comedy. Nevertheless, I kept asking them out. So finally after pitching around thirty or so ladies in my groups, three finally came forward.

It was a rocking day for me and I gladly announced to my family that finally I got my movie mates. Venue and time of the show was decided. But on the due date, two of the three friends gave the same excuse which the others had given before. I can understand that.

Even saying about it to someone who had seen the trailers that you were going to watch it raised brows with a naughty smile. However, the film is anything but naughty.

I was wondering if I had to watch it alone again. I did that once many years before my marriage and was in for a shock after sitting in the theater. It was Amir khan movie – 1947, The Earth. (Very difficult to watch alone because of its rawness in portraying the incidents during partition of India ). So I was caught up in the same fear even after so many years. Of course both the movies are totally different. However, the thought of having a stranger sitting next to me in a darken hall was still very uncomfortable for me.

I reached the venue in time and was very glad to find the friend waiting. We watched the movie together and enjoyed it too. By the time it was over, it was late in the evening and drizzling too. We exchanged goodbyes and headed back home. She with her family and I in my scooty. Driving past the convoy of trucks on the national highway with beads of rain drops splashing on my face and wetting my clothes. Luckily there was no street light on at that moment- I want to remember LUMB for giving me those moments – my moment of lipstick wale sapne.

ratna-pathak-in-lipstick-under-my-burkha
Ratna Pathak in Lipstick Under My Burkha

My Review of the movie: I loved the movie. Especially, the character played by Ratna Pathak – a middle aged widow dreaming of love life. Of course, the movie has lots of other relatable characters too, chasing their dreams. Even when their dreams comes crashing down instead of losing hope they chase a new one. Never stop dreaming it says. For nobody can take that away from you – Your Lipstick Wale Sapne

