getty_rm_photo_of_little_girl_sleeping_at_school

Teacher’s Day just went by. However, I didn’t get a chance to wish my teachers for their immense contribution in shaping me up for what I am today. I thank you all for your words, discipline and thoughts that will remain with me forever.

Now I want to scream about some issue that has been burning my pocket since I got my child into school. Nothing is familiar to what we had experienced in the name of education. In our times, the emphasis was more on knowledge as in understanding the facts and figures and how it can or has changed our lives. However, now I find the education more like a jack of all trades and master of none. The syllabus is more vast and impractical. Rather it is making the children burdened more with what little they could grasp.

Anyways today I don’t want to talk about this. What I want to know is how much does it cost you per month to enroll your child in one of the best private schools of your locality? And is the education that your child is attaining there worth the amount.

I am sharing an experience here of the school my child goes to. Since he got into middle grade this year, the school curriculum has added self-defense – Karate classes into his syllabus. Well, that is real good for my child is going to learn something good.

I have to add that we live in a city that has very scorching summers wherein the temperature touches about 45 degrees during the daytime. Now my child goes to school at 9:30a.m and after two periods of forty-five minutes each, it is lunch time. Well, so far it is going fine. Now comes the trouble that I want to share.

After the lunch break of half an hour, his class goes for KARATE session once a week.

Now if I understand clearly it is already noon and physical activity like KARATE is right after the lunch. So could anyone please tell me how it benefits my child other than hampering his digestion process?

And as if that’s not all, I have been told that the KARATE session is in the open for fifteen minutes. So what about the heat? And above all, the school wants me to shell out six hundred rupees for his KARATE uniform that will be available from the school. WHY???

I don’t want my child to attend this session. This strains him for the rest of the day. Moreover, he is too young to change his dress all by himself for that matter. At home when he goes to school I and my husband are after him to dress him up properly. The biggest problem he faces is tying his shoe lace. So let’s say I buy the KARATE uniform, and then my concern is how my child will dress up appropriately without any help for the rest of the day.

This is just one scenario that I shared. We have to spend a good amount of money for the education. I know it is pretty expensive nowadays. But then when I am already bearing his transportation and tuitions fees every month why do you keep burdening me with miscellaneous charges like scholarship entrance, horse riding, midbrain activation, magazine purchasing, newsletter purchasing and much more.

If that is not all, you ask me to contribute six hundred rupees towards his annual function participation. Which you mentioned includes his costume charges, refreshments etc. But on the annual function day, I didn’t get a chance to see my child on stage performing because you had forty-five students participating in that song which lasts for merely three minutes. I didn’t know which color costume he was wearing and in which row he was standing to perform. And when I went to collect him after the performance you have already changed his dress and removed his makeup. All I found there was a tired, hungry, exhausted boy waiting to be taken home immediately. Oh yes did I mention that for a performance at 7:30p.m my child was sent to school at reporting time 1:00 pm which means he had boarded the school bus at 12:00p.m. What kind of management is this??

Even after all these mentioned above, I would like to share about the teaching process. Just before the exams, the teachers think of completing her course and for that, she has the authority to call students in double shifts. I would like to mention here that my child’s timetable shows computer classes three times a week. The respective teacher failed to complete the syllabus within that time period for reasons best known to her. Moreover, there is no written notice from the school about this schedule.

My child forgot to inform me about his enrollment in the double shift program for his computer classes. All he said was that he was asked to come in the morning shift and hence left home at 6:45a.m. I waited for him to return after the first shift was over but he eventually returned at 3:30p.m hungry, tired and completely drained of any strength.

 

So what are we trying to make here? A child, who is totally exhausted, burdened with studies pressure, irritated and totally uninterested in activities. Is this what we want when we send our child to these awesome institutes, burning holes in our pocket thinking of their brilliant future?

