Book Title – The Kite Runner index5

Author –  Khaled Hosseini

Genre – Literary Fiction

Blurb – The New York Times bestseller and international classic loved by millions of readers.

The unforgettable, heartbreaking story of the unlikely friendship between a wealthy boy and the son of his father’s servant, The Kite Runner is a beautifully crafted novel set in a country that is in the process of being destroyed. It is about the power of reading, the price of betrayal, and the possibility of redemption; and an exploration of the power of fathers over sons—their love, their sacrifices, their lies.

A sweeping story of family, love, and friendship told against the devastating backdrop of the history of Afghanistan over the last thirty years, The Kite Runner is an unusual and powerful novel that has become a beloved, one-of-a-kind classic.
My Ratingsunnamedunnamedunnamedunnamedunnamed

My Review – The book left me in tears.
I felt a strong bonding with Amir Aga, the protagonist, who had to flee his country, his home, his comfort, his memories, and his ancestral land due to turbulence in the country. How does it feel to land up in an alien world leaving everything you ever owned behind? My folks have boar the bruise of Indo-Bangladesh partition. I have heard the stories so many times from every mouth I visited in my grandparent’s place. How lavishly they lived and then one day out of the blue they were rendered homeless. The author had depicted that very well in his book.
This is the first book of the author that I have read and I am not regretting it at all. The narration of a war trodden country, the lives of people, the helplessness, the frustration and above all the submission of oneself, to accept what is happening around, just to survive is very well presented. It would be understood by the people who have faced a situation likewise.
Maybe the meanness of Amir Aga, the legitimate rich class, selfish boy of upper class society is not very well accepted as a reader, for one would feel more for the Haazra boy instead, but Hosseini had not tried to portray him in white. His grey shades were more prominent for that matter.
I enjoyed how the author, at the end of every chapter, lures the reader with his one liners to grab the next chapter. Many a times, he even leaves them wondering what could possibly have happened, how it had happened, where it had happened mode, so that the reader is bound to turn pages and reach there, to see what really happened.
The story is told in first person and unlike many other books I read, the author never attempted to outgrow his POV. It always flows in present situation.
His using of local dialect is another good point I enjoyed where he had put the meaning too in the same line without any commas. I learnt quite few Afgani words too.
What I would have enjoyed more is the little history of Afghanistan as well. Since the book is based on the political scenario of the country if little more information is given on the situation there, it would have left me the trouble of goggling the internet.
I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy cultural fiction, emotional roller coaster drama in a political turmoil backdrop.

View all my reviews

