new book copy-horz

“How are you feeling now Mam?” Shankar asked little apologetically.

“I am fine now. It’s just the heat nothing to worry about.” Neha replied.

“Great so that means we can go ahead with our activity then.” Shankar replied.

“Of course! I don’t want to miss anything after coming here.” Neha said.

“I won’t let that happen Mam. We will be heading straight to the village haat. Today being Wednesday, it is the time for Weekly market here. Many people from the nearby village come to attend it as it is one of its kind in the entire locality. Otherwise people have to go to Kawardha or Bhoramdeo for their needs.

”I hope they will have no problems if we visit the haat.” Ritesh asked.

“Not at all. As long as you do not interfere with the locals much. They are different tribal community and love to be themselves. Though they know me but they don’t like intrusion by foreigners. Just a request every time you want to click a picture, please ask for their permission first. They are very shy, specially the ladies. Though they won’t say no but it is always better to ask.”

 

“Oh, surely we will take care of it.” Ritesh replied.

“Also I must inform you that this hatt is also a dating place where the man and woman choose their partners for marriage. So as the hours go by you will find the men dancing and singing around with girls and it is celebration time for them. So they drink Mahua, a local alcohol. If they like you they will offer you too. Please! Don’t say “NO” and don’t throw the drink in front of them. It will highly offend them. If they ask you to dance, don’t forget to acknowledge it. It is their way of showing love and respect for you.”

“Phew! As much as I want to I will take care of all the information. Thanks Shankar.”

“And last of all, remember I am a local here so I will behave the same way with them. If I drink Mahua, please don’t assume I am drunk. I know my limits and responsibility. You guys are safe with me.” Shankar added.

“Alrighto!” Ritesh showed a thumps up. Neha smiled.

***

This excerpt is part of my upcoming #paranormal book based on the jungles of Chhattisgarh, THE JUNGLE SERIES, a collection of short stories. The tag line is- GET READY TO BE ASSAULTED.

*****

Chhattisgarh is a newly developed state of India with Raipur as its capital city. The state is well known for its bastar arts and Kosa Silk. Chhattisgarh is also home to many tribes and communities who thrive in the jungles and still practice their age old tradition and culture.
Join me  to know more about this virgin destination that has so many stories to tell.
