hqdefault

Movie – 1920 London

Star Cast: Sharman Joshi, Meera Chopra, Vishal Karwal, Sushmita Mukherjee

Director: Tinu Suresh Desai

Rating –unnamedunnamed

My Review

Okay so here is my say. I have been a fan of Vikram Bhatt horror movies but lately he has disappointed me. After watching the trailer of 1920 London, I was so excited that this new release is going to give me the thrill that I yearned for in a Bollywood horror flicks but the movie turned down my expectations. The movie as I would like to put it, was more of a fashion show of the 1920s than the actual horror.

This was the first time, 1920 series, Vikram seem to have experimented with his horror style. Instead of woman as the possessed victim he chose a man who for some reason could not connect with the chord of the horror thriller. Most of the time he was shown sleeping like a corpse. That didn’t thrill me at all, not even when he walked down the stairs upside down in acrobat style.

Next thing which really pissed me was the fashion consciousness of the actors. I mean the story is about a lady asking for help to save her husband who was about to die in a week’s time. Come on! Does anybody think of fashion at such a time of crisis? Of course if you are a fashion freak than this movie can keep you captivated with its awesome collection of dresses and caps that the actress, Meera chopra loves to flaunt in every scene.

Another thing that turned me down was the costume of Sharman Joshi. The guy is supposed to be a gadariya, one that grazes cattle, he even lives in a hut but his clothes? They are straight out of a royal collection. I think the entire movie was more focused on the fashion of that era that made the actual purpose of making a horror film too illogical.

Moreover the actors shared no chemistry. It was as cold as the movie. Top actress Sushmita Mukherjee is completely wasted in the movie. What was the point of taking her if you have nothing for her to do in the entire film other than lighting lanterns? I am highly disappointed.

I would love to share here that 1920, the first movie of the series is still topping my bollywood horror movies chart but 1920 London is best watch for its fashion statement of that era.

