It’s absolutely necessary that the emotions should be palpable to your readers. Otherwise, the sensuality becomes gratuitous.” – Summerita Rhayn

Let us welcome today on your BLOG GUEST POST column, the most popular indie author of sensual romance, Summerita Rhayn. She first got published in 2013 and has won contests with prestigious publishers such as Harlequin and Harper Collins India. Writing, she finds, is the only way to deal with the numerous story ideas bubbling in her brain which pop up more rapidly than her keyboard can do justice to.

Author of several romance books, today she reveals her secret about writing passionate scenes for her recent book, More Than Just Desire.

Writing an intimate scene can really be very difficult. You have to balance between vulgarity and passion. How do you manage to write?

Hi Paromita! It is lovely being featured on your blog.

Intimate or sexy scenes are a part of romance fiction. You can choose to vary the degree to which you want to reveal the closeness between your characters, but you cannot completely turn them off, so to speak. As they say in romance fiction parlance, keep the bedroom door open or closed to your readers. In romance, conflict keeps the tension high and love scenes function to offset or increase that tension as the case may be. This is because they provide expression to what your protagonists are going through.

There needs to be a balance. Vulgarity has no place in romantic scenes. The balance needs to be in whether the depiction feels organic to your characters or is gratuitous and merely to fill up the pages. If there is no emotional component to the physical expression, then it will make for overdone and distasteful reading.

For instance, read this snippet from More Than Just Desire…………

Piya stared into the dark, compelling gaze. She detected a determination that made her quail for some reason. She squared her shoulders and faced him.

‘I don’t have time now, Arfaaz. You’ll have to wait.’

‘I’ve waited three damned years.’ He stepped forward. ‘I should have said this the moment you got down from the plane. I thought…never mind! From now on, I’m not prepared to let things be. No matter how many chances I give you, you’ll never change. I’m done with you.’

Pale but defiant, she put down the hair brush and got to her feet slowly. ‘Fine by me. I don’t care about the chances. I don’t need your benevolence, okay? I’ve never made any apologies for being me and I’m not doing it now. I will do what I damn well please.’

‘There’s one damn thing you’ll not do when you are living under this roof and that is warm anyone’s bed to get him to sign you. Give me your word for that.’

‘What value is there in my word?’ A hollow laugh sounded in the room.

Some vestige of pity still remaining in him made him wince at the sound.

‘You aren’t happy, Piya. Don’t tell yourself you are.’ He looked at her searchingly.

‘I don’t want to be happy. I want to be –’

He made a sound of impatience. ‘Successful? Is this what you call being successful? I call it pandering.’ He looked down at her dress.

She felt the force of his gaze. Heat scorched her. As though he had touched her. Her stomach contracted with awareness. Excited by his threatening, looming presence, her pulse raced. She didn’t want this shivery awareness. She didn’t. She stood her ground.

‘I don’t care what you call it.’

‘Do whatever you want but not while you’re my wife. I’ll have that from you.’

‘I’m not your wife, not in any real sense.’

‘Not from your lack of wanting it.’

‘Ah, how smartly we change the track. Damn it, Arfaaz. Don’t get the wrong idea from a few kisses.’ She stepped away from the dresser to stand up to him, facing him with blazing eyes.

‘I don’t need to prove it to either you or me,’ he said. ‘If you don’t want to admit it, that’s fine. I don’t either. But that won’t change it…’

‘You’re presuming!’ She didn’t want it. Muscles tense, she waited for him to step back at her rejection. All the while ants crawled all over her skin. Rejecting. Abhorring.

Anticipating…

His voice dropped to a murmur, silky honey to her ears. ‘You feel it when I look at you. You fight it so hard sometimes your muscles lock up.’

‘It’s nothing,’ she said.

‘Convince me,’ he challenged.

Then he did something she wouldn’t have expected from him. He took a step and another, bringing himself dangerously close to her. Invading her space blatantly. ‘Tell me, blood doesn’t roar in your ears like it does in mine when I come near you.’ His voice had dropped even lower, a mere expulsion of air forming sandpapery sounds.

A breath separated them. He was almost touching her and yet not quite. Torture climbed to a new level when she breathed because it brought her body almost against his. Yet not quite. It would haunt her all her life. She could have swayed and fallen into his arms.

…………

What do you think? Does this work in holding your attention and making you want to read on? What element would you pick in this excerpt that caught and held your attention?

It’s the emotional investment of the characters. Whether they are fighting what they feel before finally letting their feelings take over or whether they are sharing a kiss of tenderness, it’s absolutely necessary that the emotions should be palpable to your readers. Otherwise, the sensuality becomes gratuitous and your reader becomes distanced from your characters.

****

 More about Summerita Rhayne

Her pet belief is that even when writing time is in short supply, if the inspiration is strong enough, the story characters get a life of their own and will find a way to make the writer pen them down. When cerebrally confronted with the sizzling interaction of two Alpha characters, the only way to get peace is write their book!

At heart, she’s a family person and even though she loves her medical teaching profession, she happily becomes a homemaker when not at work. She loves winding down with music, movies, cricket (strictly watching only) and social networking.

Stalk her

Amazon Author page  | Goodreads |   Website

 

3e552-mtjd2bcover

Buying Link

Amazon.com

