Today on GUEST BLOG POST we have with us Mohan Deep, the author of COLOR ME RICH.  Besides bestselling author,he is also a renowned painter and Feng Shui Master.

mohan
Mohan Deep

Mohan Deep is the author of ‘The Mystery and Mystique of Madhubala’ (1996), ‘It’s My Life’ (Novel) (1997), ‘Simply Scandalous: Meena Kumari’ (1998), ‘Eurekha!’ – an unauthorized biography of Rekha. (1999), ‘Four Options’ (2000), ‘Feng Shui for the Bold & Beautiful, the Rich and Famous’ (2001) and ‘Nehru and the Tantrik Woman’ (2002).After a sabbatical of a decade, during which he touched upon the lifves of people as a Feng Shui Master, he is back with The Five Foolish Virgins, a book of fiction, launched in April 2013.

Mohan Deep is arguably the only Indian author to write what is often described as controversial, unauthorized star biographies in India. Columnist-journalist and former editor of ‘Illustrated Weekly of India’, Khushwant Singh called him ‘a truly gifted gossip writer’. “The maverick writer”, like columnist-reviewer-poetess Tara Patel described him has also been called William Goldman of Bollywood’s stars (By Behram Contractor, the Editor of Afternoon Despatch & Courier) (Source) Kitty Kelly of India (By R K Bajaj, the Editor of ‘The Daily’). Interestingly, almost every book he has wrote/penned has invited controversies for its bold content.

After writing so many non fictions you chose to debut in fiction with a romance novel. Was the change planned?
Paromita, not many know that I wrote short stories (almost 200) and novels (2) in Sindhi before settling for freelance writing in English. In fact, I also wrote short stories in late seventies for periodicals like Mirror, Caravan, Woman’s Era and Femina but strayed into journalism.
I found it quite exciting.
Crime, politics and Bollywood made a heady combination for my articles.
I met and interviewed every major underworld figure and even did a telephone interview with Dawood Ibrahim!
Also every A list film star and a lot of politicians.
I always felt that their interviews and profiles only scratched the surface. Only a book could do justice to these larger than life characters.
Color Me Rich‘ is not my first novel. I first wrote ‘Its My Life‘ which was quite a success.
But ‘Madhubala‘ overshadowed it. Seeing the response to ‘Madhubala’, I also wrote ‘Simply Scandalous: Meena Kumari‘. And then the mother of all biographies – ‘Eurekha!‘. I wrote these books when Bollywood biographies were unheard of.
These three were best sellers.
My comeback novel is ‘The Five Foolish Virgins‘.
It is a story of three generations that starts in Karachi of mid-forties and climaxes into Mumbai of 2013.  I consider this to be my best.
But somehow my latest novel ‘Color Me Rich’ has caught the imagination of the readers.
Writing fiction is like coming home for me; but with a difference. Now, I know what I am writing about. My fiction has become more authentic, my characters have become more real.
Yes, in a way at a subconscious level this was planned. I was always writing it in my head, while driving, under a shower…
But like John Lennon said, “Life is what happens to you when you’re making other plans”, I fell ill when the book was out. It didn’t get the attention it deserved.
cover
Book Blitz Color Me Rich
Blurb

A sensitive love story of a handsome and talented struggling painter Akash Saigal. What happens when he marries an extremely rich and beautiful artist and art investor Zenobia Taraporevala?
Grab your copy @

amazon.com | amazon.in

