Today in CHAT ‘n’ COFFEE we have with us one of the most popular BOOK REVIEWER from Australia JODY ELLIS. She is one of the thirty top users on Goodreads and an avid reader. Her choice of books range from science fiction, fantasy, biography, autobiographies, history, science, self help, educational, romance, fiction, non-fiction, how to, business, real estate, horror, mystery, thriller and young adult. In short, hers is a world of books and she loves discovering new stories. An aspiring writer herself, Jody shares some of her life’s most beautiful moments with us today.

Her contact details are mentioned at the end for you and you can also leave your comment at the end. Here she goes-

  • Tell us about yourself.
    Western Australian desert
    Western Australian desert

    I am a 30 year old Shetland Island (Scotland, U.K) born mum to two kids under the age of six. I am an avid artist, reader, and writer myself (though I have yet to publish anything). I work as a scientist by day, and by night tuck myself away to read. I love hanging out in my hammock to read. I currently live in the middle of the Western Australian desert living next to the biggest open pit mine in the world! Living where I do, mean I don’t have as much access to books as I’d like. I’d love to be a well-respected book reviewer and feel I am making head-way on that ‘life goal’!

  • What gift would you prefer on your birthday?images

No cooking, no chores, and as much chocolate and pizza as I can eat. If I’m really greedy, a massage too!

  • Which is your favorite destination and why?

I haven’t found my absolute favorite but I do love to frequent Bali, because the people there with their attitude to life rub off on me, and I always come back refreshed, and a whole new person. Plus the food is just amazing!

  • What is your take on books/ movies/music? Any favorites?

I am not huge on music, if anything goes in the CD player it’s normally an audio book. I like music if I’m working out, or if I want to feel a particular way when writing myself. Movies I find great muses, I draw inspiration and confidence from movies, there isn’t much I haven’t watched. I have never enjoyed a movie made based on a book though. They always confine it to so many minutes of movie time, and they miss a heap or ruin the whole thing. Books are my world! I wasindex delayed developmentally at school, so was a late reader. Once I worked it out though? You couldn’t keep me away from books. All my pocket money as a kid thirteen and under went on a book series called ‘Animal Farm’ I think it was. It is a fantastic story series about a girl who rescued animals. I started to illustrate and write as soon as I got a hold of a pencil. After moving to Australia, I tried to get my books published. Alas, finances always got in the way (or should I say lack thereof?). I still have those books, and the worlds I created. When the kids are older, it would be my dream to self-publish these books!

  • What is that one thing that you miss so much in life?

Absolutely nothing, if there is something to be missed, I have no idea what it is, and I’m blissfully unaware. Though if my imagination has anything to do with it, I’d say I miss being able to eat as much chocolate as a mine truck can haul. Those were the days! Now I look at a chocolate bar and I gain weight!

  • Share an experience that is turning point in your life.

Meeting my husband. I was a very lost unwell kid, and was self-destructing for the better part of aged 15 right through to my early 20s. Meeting my husband gave me grounding, and ever since, he’s been my rock and turned my life around and I’m happy, healthy, and balanced.

  • How would you describe your better half or dearest person?

My best friend! We are total opposites and that is what makes us work. He’s never boring, and he isn’t afraid to tell me if my idea is silly. We act like kids, we dream big. He brings things into my life that I would never have experienced without him. If you’d asked me ten years ago if I’d be married to a speedway racer, I’d have laughed so hard I might have farted. He’s also the guy I love to hate; I just want to smash his head into a wall some days. But that makes him even more lovable in a weird twisted way.

  • Given a chance, what is that one thing that you would love to change in your life?

Publishing my works when I was very young! If my parents had financed me, or needing a solicitor wasn’t important, I could have got my books published. I was always so damned close, and couldn’t get over the line. I wonder where I would images1be today if I had crossed the line and got my books printed. What a bloody fantastic world that could be! Instead I’m 30 and still waiting for that window of opportunity. Age has given me dead weights for legs, and I don’t fly anymore. I don’t have that imagination I once did because reality waltzed in and smashed me with a ticket for adulthood. I’m slowly but surely clawing that back, but if I’d been published, I don’t think that part of me would have ever died!

  • Any message that you would like to give to the readers?

Do whatever it takes to make what you want happen, and don’t let go. The world is vast, so love it, learn from it, and always carry a good book with you wherever you go!

Jody Ellis
Jody Ellis

Contact Jody Ellis  @ Goodreads

